view cart menu separator categories menu separator faq
advanced search
categories  > Digital Downloads > Fiction (11)
Complete Mapp & Lucia Series eBooks

Complete Mapp & Lucia Series eBooks

Price: $4.99 currently not available     
Feedback: 100%, 6 sales Ask seller a question
Shipping: US-Mainland: free (more destinations)
Seller's Country: India
Condition: Brand new
Payment with:
*The store has not been updated recently. You may want to contact the merchant to confirm the availability of the product.
Mapp and Lucia by E F Benson

Mapp and Lucia is a collective name for a series of novels by E. F. Benson

The novels feature humorous incidents in the lives of upper-middle-class British people in the 1920s and 1930s, vying for social prestige in an atmosphere of extreme cultural snobbery. Several of them are set in the small seaside town of Tilling, closely based on Rye, East Sussex, where Benson lived for a number of years and served as mayor.

This series is a subtly brilliant comedy of social rivalry. Emmeline Lucas (known universally to her friends as Lucia) is an arch-snob of the highest order. In Miss Elizabeth Mapp of Mallards, Lucia meets her match. Ostensibly the most civil and genteel of society ladies, there is no plan too devious, no plot too cunning, no depths to which they would not sink, in order to win the battle for social supremacy. Using as their deadly weapons garden parties, bridge evenings and charming teas, the two combatants strive to outcharm each other - and the whole of Tilling society - as they vie for the position of doyenne of the town.

Readers may find some the aspects of the series similar to the Desperate Housewives TV Series set in Tilling instead of Wisteria Lane and in the early 20th century instead of the early 21st.

The novels, in chronological order, are:

Queen Lucia (1920)
Miss Mapp (1922)
Lucia in London (1927)
Mapp and Lucia (1930)
Lucia's Progress (1935)
Trouble for Lucia (1939)

These are eBooks readable in Adobe Acrobat Reader and will be sent via eMail in a WinZip file.
Other Products from nichetouche:View all products
Bunny Brown & Sister Sue Illustrated eBooks
French Indian War Series eBooks
Andrew Lang Fairy Books
Loves of Krishna
Illustrated English Fairy Tales eBook
Algernon Blackwood Horror eBooks Set
Captains of Industry eBook
Bulfinch Mythology
Fifty Famous Stories Retold by James Baldwin eBook with Pictures
Adventures of Richard Hannay
Last Updated: 15 Feb 2012 03:02:00 PST home  |  about  |  terms  |  contact
Powered by eCRATER - a free online store builder